Stellar Cyber​​ Open XDR - 徽标
搜索
关闭此搜索框。

关于网络安全新浪潮的对话

关于网络安全新浪潮的对话

再次改变网络安全对话的时机已经到了。

都不是 数据驱动 也不 人工智能驱动 网络安全,您可能以前曾经听说过-不仅如此,而且还有更多。

它是相关驱动的 网络安全。 它涉及许多检测的相关性,从非常基本的NGFW到非常先进的如基于AI的EDR,都来自单个内聚平台中的各种数据源。

网络安全,人工智能驱动的安全,网络安全,xdr,人工智能,SIEM工具,网络流量分析,网络流量

我们从潜在客户,客户和合作伙伴那里听到了许多安全方面的挑战,为什么? 因为这是人类工作的一部分,所以要分担痛苦! 您可能知道或不知道,攻击者可以使用我们所使用的相同工具。 他们可以使用大数据和AI技术进行更高级的攻击。

然而,随着复杂威胁的增加,我们大家都同意–难怪我们听到了如此一致的主题:

  • 我没有足够的数据来进行有效检测,或者
  • 相反,我的数据太多了,我被淹没了
  • 我在数据中收到太多噪音或错误警报太多
  • 我最近尝试了一些使用AI / ML来减少噪声或误报的高级工具,但是这种智能仅针对每种工具。
  • 我有很多独立的工具,彼此之间无法交谈,导致答案孤单且成本高昂

对于使用这些挑战来应对您的复杂攻击,您该怎么办? 这是一个简单的示例:

  • 您的CEO收到带有嵌入式URL的电子邮件
  • 您的CEO通过访问URL将文件下载到他的笔记本电脑
  • 您的CEO在工作日的凌晨2点访问文件服务器
  • 您首席执行官的笔记本电脑发出大量DNS流量

单独来看,这些单独事件中的每一个都可能看起来很正常。 如果您恰好部署了正确的安全工具,并且其中一些工具已经通过EDR和 瑞银,您可能会发现:

  • 您的CEO收到了 网络钓鱼 嵌入式电子邮件 恶意的 网址。
  • 您的首席执行官下载了一个 恶意软件 通过转到URL将文件归档到他的笔记本电脑
  • 您的CEO在工作日的凌晨2点访问文件服务器, 异常行为 用UBA术语
  • 您首席执行官的笔记本电脑通过DNS发送大量DNS流量 隧道

这是通过四个不同的工具进行的许多独立分析。 为了追踪此违规,您将这些事件关联起来的速度和容易程度如何?您需要多少人通过查看许多不同的屏幕将它们包装在一起?

让我们退后一步,问自己如何到达这里。 显然有三波 网络安全,它们是相互依存的:数据的增长,人工智能的增长以及相关性的增长。

1.数据的增长-增加数据量以实现全面的可见性。

数据驱动的安全性是大数据时代的主题,在大数据时代,数据是新的“黄金”。 它分别从日志和原始网络数据包开始。 主要目的 西门子 旨在收集和汇总来自不同工具和应用程序的日志,以进行合规性,事件调查和日志管理。 ArcSight,传统之一 SIEM工具于2000年发布,是一个典型的 SIEM 和日志管理系统。 尽管原始数据包需要大量的存储空间,但它们仍被收集并按原样存储以进行取证,并且很难筛选出如此大量的数据包以查找任何违规迹象。 2006年,NetWitness找到了一种分析原始数据包的解决方案。

很快,我们意识到原始日志和原始数据包都不足以有效地检测违规情况,并且原始数据包太重并且除了取证之外还具有有限的用途。 从流量(例如Netflow / IPFix)中提取的信息(通常用于网络可见性和性能监视)开始用于安全性。 西门子 也开始摄取和存储Netflow / IPFix。 但是,由于技术上的可扩展性和成本方面的问题, 西门子 从未成为流量分析的主流工具。

随着时间的流逝,将收集更多数据:文件,用户信息,威胁情报等。收集更多数据的目标是有效的–获得普遍可见性–但是应对关键攻击的净挑战就像在大海捞针一样,尤其是通过人工搜索或人工手动定义的规则。 这是劳动密集型且时间效率低的。

数据驱动的安全性面临着两个技术挑战:如何大规模存储大量数据,实现有效的搜索和分析,以及如何处理各种数据(尤其是非结构化数据),因为数据可以是任何格式。 基于SQL的传统关系数据库遇到了这两个问题。 早期的供应商争先恐后地使用许多本地解决方案来解决这些问题。 不幸的是,它们大多数都不如我们今天基于NoSQL数据库用于大数据湖的效率高。

数据驱动的安全性还面临着另一个挑战:以经济高效的方式为企业客户构建可扩展系统的软件体系结构。 具有前端业务逻辑和数据库层的典型3层体系结构成为一大障碍。 当今的云原生架构基于带有容器的微服务架构,可提供更具可扩展性和成本效益的解决方案。

2.人工智能的兴起-将机器学习与大数据分析结合使用,以帮助发现和自动进行检测

一旦拥有大量数据,您将如何处理? 如前所述,在海量数据中,进行筛选以寻找有意义的模式既繁琐又耗时。 如果不幸地您的IT基础架构遭到黑客入侵,可能需要几天的时间才能发现它。 为时已晚,因为损坏已经造成,或者敏感数据已经被盗。 在这种情况下,过多的数据将成为问题。 幸运的是,由于机器学习算法和计算能力的进步,我们已经看到了机器学习的兴起。

机器非常擅长快速,高效,不倦地进行24×7重复和繁琐的工作。 当机器具备学习功能之类的智能时,它们就能帮助人类扩展规模。 安全领域的许多研究人员和供应商开始利用AI来解决问题,帮助他们找到问题所在或查看隐藏在大型数据集中的趋势。 因此, 人工智能驱动的安全性。 在这个领域有很多创新。 例如,许多使用AI解决端点安全问题的端点检测和响应(EDR)公司; 很多使用AI解决内部威胁的用户和实体行为分析(UEBA)公司,还有很多 网络流量分析(NTA) 公司使用AI查找异常 网络流量 图案。

如果数据是新的黄金,则通过AI检测到的漏洞就像是用黄金制成的珠宝。 为了用纯金手工制作漂亮的珠宝,需要大量的时间,耐心和辛勤的工作。 借助机器,尤其是先进的机器,可以进行大型珠宝的商业化生产。

在表面上, 人工智能驱动的安全性,因为ML通常需要大量数据来训练模型和学习模式,所以大量数据变得不再是问题。 相反,数据不足显然是一个问题,因为数据越少,准确性越差,因此ML模型变得越没有用处。 但是,随着时间的流逝,研究人员逐渐意识到正确的数据更为重要。 没有正确信息的太多数据既浪费了ML的计算能力,又浪费了存储空间。 许多早期的UEBA供应商提供了基于以下日志的解决方案 SIEM工具 汲取了这一艰辛的教训。 SIEM可能收集了很多日志,但是其中只有少数包含与用户行为有关的正确信息。 因此,尽管数据驱动的安全性为 人工智能驱动的安全性,以便构建可扩展且准确的 人工智能驱动的安全性,正确的数据更为重要。

使用AI无疑可以缓解大数据带来的痛苦,但是它也有其自身的挑战。 例如,UEBA和NTA都利用无监督的机器学习来进行行为分析。 但是,对于用户或从中观察到的异常行为 网络流量 不一定表示安全事件。 这些工具会产生大量噪音,引起警报疲劳。 此外,聪明的骇客通常会先经过多个杀伤链,然后才能被捕获。 您如何恢复违规的痕迹并解决根本原因?

面临另一个巨大挑战 人工智能驱动的安全性 总的来说:成本–这些工具本身的资本成本,这些工具所使用的计算和存储基础架构的成本,以及在各自的筒仓中使用不同屏幕的许多不同工具的运行成本。

因此,即使每个工具都能够将千兆字节或TB的数据精简为几个关键检测的简短列表,问题仍然存在:“如果不将这些工具整合到一个平台中并关联检测,您会丢失什么?涵盖所有工具和提要吗?”

3.关联的兴起-在单个平台上关联检测并自动在整个攻击面上进行响应

随着这一新潮流,对话从数据和人工智能转移到了相关性。 显然,此浪潮建立在前两个浪潮的基础上。 但是,这不仅仅是获取数据和工具,还涉及将所有内容包装在一个平台中。 遵循我们早期的“金到珠宝”的比喻,这是关于匹配一组正确的珠宝并将其组合到一个人上以使其整体上看起来不错。

安全分析员来自 ESG,Gartner,Forrester,IDC奥姆迪亚 所有人都同意,从孤立的工具到统一的平台的思维方式的转变对于帮助我们发现并应对严重的违规行为至关重要。 具体而言,该平台需要采取整体方法,并着眼于跨网络,云,端点和应用程序–整个攻击面的相关检测。

跨工具,提要和环境的检测相关性的主要目标是提高检测准确性,通过组合来自多个工具的较弱信号来发现可能被忽略的攻击,从而检测复杂的攻击,并提高操作效率和生产率。 全面的可见性不再意味着找到正确的数据,而是寻找复杂的攻击。

为此,您应该考虑 开启XDR. XDR 是一种具有凝聚力的安全操作解决方案,可将多个安全应用程序紧密集成在具有单个平台的单个平台中。 它会自动从多个工具中收集和关联数据,改进检测并提供自动响应。 一个将工具和应用程序结合在一起的平台本质上降低了工具成本和基础设施成本,同时通过易于使用的单块玻璃板提高了运营效率。

我们认为XDR有五个基本的基本要求:

  1. 集中来自各种数据源(包括日志, 网络流量,应用程序,云,威胁情报等。
  2. 根据通过高级分析(例如)收集的数据自动检测安全事件 NTA, 瑞银EBA.
  3. 将各个安全事件关联到高级视图。
  4. 与单个安全产品交互的集中响应能力。
  5. 云本地微服务架构,可提供部署灵活性,可扩展性和高可用性。

总而言之,Stellar Cyber​​是唯一专门收集和管理所有内容的Open XDR平台。 网络安全 数据以检测,关联和响应整个杀伤链。 相关性的浪潮已经开始,欢迎您与我们一起享受旅程!

SIAM-空洞的承诺

SIEM –空的承诺?

数十年来,SIEM一直是安全运营的基础,这一点应该得到承认。 但是,SIEM做出了很多伟大的承诺,而到目前为止,还没有兑现许多承诺……

下载电子书

滚动到顶部

A Conversation about the New Wave of Cybersecurity

Conversation about the New Wave of Cybersecurity

Its time, again, to change the conversation in cybersecurity.

It’s neither data-driven nor AI-driven cybersecurity, which you might have heard before – it’s both and more, much more.

It is correlation-driven cybersecurity. It is about correlations of many detections, from very basic like NGFW to very advanced like AI-based EDR, from various data sources in a single cohesive platform.

cybersecurity, AI-driven security, cyber security, xdr, artificial intelligence, SIEM tools, network traffic analysis, network traffic

We hear about many security challenges from prospects, customers and partners—why? Because it is part of what humans do—share pain! As you may or may not know, attackers have access to the same tools as we all do. They have access to both Big Data and AI technologies for more advanced attacks.

Nevertheless, with complex threats on the rise, we all agree – it’s no wonder we hear such consistent themes:

  • I don’t have enough data to have effective detection, or
  • On the contrary, I have too much data and I’m swamped
  • I get too much noise in the data or too many false alarms
  • I have recently tried a few advanced tools that use AI / ML to reduce the noise or false positives, but that intelligence is specific only to each tool.
  • I have lots of independent tools which don’t talk to each other and lead to siloed answers and high costs

What can you do about a complex attack that uses these challenges against you? Here is a simple example:

  • Your CEO receives an email with an embedded URL
  • Your CEO downloads a file to his laptop by going to the URL
  • Your CEO accesses a file server at 2am on a weekday
  • Your CEO’s laptop sends out lots of DNS traffic

By themselves, each of these individual events may look normal. If you happen to have the right security tools deployed, with some being advanced with machine learning like EDR and UBA, you may find out that:

  • Your CEO receives a PHISHING email with an embedded MALICIOUS URL.
  • Your CEO downloads a MALWARE file to his laptop by going to the URL
  • Your CEO accesses a file server at 2am on a weekday, an ABNORMAL BEHAVIOR in a UBA term
  • Your CEO’s laptop sends out lots of DNS traffic via DNS TUNELLING

That is a lot of independent analysis by four different tools. How fast and how easily can you correlate these events in order to trace this breach, and how many people do you need to wrap it all together by looking at many different screens?

Let’s take a step back and ask ourselves how we got here. Clearly there are three waves of cyber security, which are built on top of each other: the rise of data, the rise of AI, and the rise of correlations.

1. The Rise of data—Increasing the amount of data to achieve comprehensive visibility.

Data-driven security was the main theme of the Big Data era where data is the new “gold.” It started with logs and raw network packets, separately. The main purpose of SIEMs was to collect and aggregate logs from different tools and applications for compliance, incident investigation and log management. ArcSight, one of the legacy SIEM tools, released in 2000, was a typical example of a SIEM and log management system. The raw packets were collected and stored as-is for forensics despite the fact that they require lots of storage space and it is very hard to sift through these huge numbers of packets to find any indication of breaches. In 2006, NetWitness found a solution analyzing raw packets .

Quickly, we realized that neither raw logs nor raw packets individually are enough to be effective in detecting breaches, and raw packets are too heavy and have limited usage besides forensics. Information extracted from traffic such as Netflow/IPFix, traditionally used for network visibility and performance monitoring, started to be used for security. SIEMs also started to ingest and store Netflow/IPFix too. However, due to both technical scalability concerns and cost concerns, SIEMs have never become the mainstream tool for traffic analysis.

As time went by, more data are collected: files, user information, threat intelligence, etc. The goal of collecting more data was valid – get pervasive visibility— but the net challenge, responding to critical attacks, is like finding needles in a haystack, especially via manual searches or rules defined by humans manually. It’s labor-intensive and time-inefficient.

There are two technical challenges facing data-driven security: how to store large volumes of data at scale, allowing for efficient searches and analysis, and how to deal with the variety of data – especially unstructured data – as data can be of any format. Traditional relational databases based on SQL ran into both of these problems. Earlier vendors scrambled to solve these problems with many home- grown solutions. Unfortunately, most of them were not as efficient as what we are using today based on NoSQL databases for Big Data lakes.

There is one more challenge facing data-driven security: the software architecture to cost-effectively build a scalable system for enterprise customers. The typical 3-tier architecture with front-end business logic and database tiers became a big hurdle. Today’s cloud-native architectures, building upon micro services architecture with containers, provide much more scalable and cost-effective solutions.

2. The Rise of AI—Use machine learning with big data analysis to help find and automate detections

Once you have lots of data, what do you do with it? As mentioned previously, with a large of volume of data, sifting through it looking for meaningful patterns is tedious and time-consuming. If your IT infrastructure somehow unfortunately gets hacked, it might take days to find it out. It is too late because the damage is already done, or sensitive data is already stolen. In this case, too much data becomes a problem. Fortunately, we have seen the rise of machine learning thanks to advances of machine learning algorithms as well as computing power.

Machines are very good at doing repetitive and tedious work very quickly, very efficiently and tirelessly 24×7. When machines are equipped with intelligence like learning capabilities, they help humans scale. Lot of researchers and vendors in security started leveraging AI to solve the problem, to help them find those needles, or to see trends that are hidden inside large datasets. Thus, the rise of AI-driven security. There are lots of innovations in this space. For example, there are lots of Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) companies using AI to address endpoint security problems; lots of User and Entity Behavior Analysis (UEBA) companies using AI to address insider threats, and lots of network traffic Analysis (NTA) companies using AI to find abnormal network traffic patterns.

If data is the new gold, breaches detected via AI are like jewelry made out of gold. It requires lots of time, patience and hard work in order to make beautiful jewelry by hand out of plain gold. With the help of machines, especially advanced machinery, commercial production of great jewelry becomes possible.

On the surface, with AI-driven security, lots of data becomes less of a problem as ML usually requires lots of data to train the model and learn the patterns. On the contrary, not enough data is obviously a problem as the less data, the less accurate and thus the less useful the ML model becomes. However, as time goes by, researchers gradually realized that the right data is far more important. Too much data without the right information is just a waste of computing power for ML as well as a waste of storage at the same time. Lots of earlier UEBA vendors with solutions based on logs from SIEM tools learned this hard lesson. The SIEM might have collected lots of logs, but only a few of them contain the right information related to user behaviors. So, although data-driven security builds a great foundation for AI-driven security, in order to build scalable and accurate AI-driven security, the right data is far more important.

Using AI definitely helps alleviate the pains with Big Data, but it has its own challenges. For example, both UEBA and NTA leverage unsupervised machine learning for behavior analysis. However, an abnormal behavior observed for a user or from network traffic does not necessarily mean a security incident. These tools can generate lots of noise, causing alert fatigue. Furthermore, the smart hacks usually go through several stages of the kill chain before they can be caught. How can you recover the trace of a breach and fix the root cause?

There is another big challenge facing AI-driven security collectively: cost – the capital cost of the tools themselves, the cost of the infrastructure of compute and storage used by these tools, and the cost of operations of so many different tools in their silos with different screens.

So, even if each tool has the ability to distill gigabytes or terabytes of data down to a short list of a few critical detections, the question still remains, “What are you missing by not consolidating these tools into a single platform and correlating the detections across all tools and feeds?”

3. The Rise of Correlations—Correlate detections and automate response across the entire attack surface in a single platform

With this new wave, the conversation is shifted from data and AI to correlations. Obviously, this wave is built upon the two previous waves. However, it is all about getting above the data as well as the tools, and it is about wrapping everything together in a single platform. Following our early gold-to-jewelry analogy, this is about matching a set of the right jewelry and putting it together on a person to make it look nice as a whole.

Analysts in security from ESG, Gartner, Forrester, IDC and Omdia all agree this change in thinking from siloed tools to a consolidated platform is key to help us see and respond to critical breaches. Specifically, the platform needs to take a holistic approach and look at correlating detections across network, cloud, endpoints and applications – the entire attack surface.

The key objectives of correlations of detections across tools, feeds and environments are to improve detection accuracy, to detect complex attacks by combining weaker signals from multiple tools to spot attacks that might otherwise be ignored, and to improve operational efficiency and productivity. No longer does comprehensive visibility mean finding the right data—rather, it means finding the complex attacks.

To do so, you should consider Open XDR. XDR is a cohesive security operations solution with tight integration of many security applications in a single platform with a single pane of glass. It automatically collects and correlates data from multiple tools, improves detections, and provides automated responses. A platform tying together tools and applications innately drives the cost down, in both tools cost and infrastructure cost, while it improves operational efficiency with an easy-to-use single pane of glass.

We think there are five primary foundational requirements of XDR:

  1. Centralization of normalized and enriched data from a variety of data sources including logs, network traffic, applications, cloud, Threat Intelligence, etc.
  2. Automatic detection of security events from the data collected through advanced analytics such as NTA, UBA and EBA.
  3. Correlation of individual security events into a high-level view.
  4. Centralized response capability that interacts with individual security products.
  5. Cloud-native micro-services architecture for deployment flexibility, scalability and high availability.

In conclusion, Stellar Cyber is the only purpose-built Open XDR platform that ingests and curates all cybersecurity data to detect, correlate and respond across the entire kill chain. The wave of correlations has started, and you are welcome to ride along with us enjoying the journey together!

SIAMs - Empty Promises

SIEMs – EMPTY PROMISES?

SIEMs have been the foundation of security operations for decades, and that should be acknowledged. However, SIEMs have made a lot of great promises, and to this day, have not fulfilled many of them…

Download Datasheet